The management structure of Aveiro 2027 has been presented

Teatro Aveirense staged the public presentation of the bodies and members that make up the management structure of Aveiro’s candidacy for the European Capital of Culture 2027, in a session attended by the Mayor of Aveiro, José Ribau Esteves, as well as the members of the new Strategic Council of the candidacy: the Rector of the University of Aveiro, Paulo Jorge Ferreira, the President of AIDA, Fernando Castro and the Vice President of CIRA, Salvador Malheiro.

Held in a hybrid format, with an audience of guests at Teatro Aveirense and the streaming of the session through the website, this was the time to get to know the Strategic Council, the Honor Commission and the Executive Committee of the Aveiro application.

In the Honor Committee, the highlight is its President, Carlos Moedas, who stated during the ceremony his conviction that Aveiro will be the city chosen as the European Capital of Culture, for having “something that differentiates it from all other options, it’s extraordinary link between art, science and innovation ”. Shortly before, José Ribau Esteves, who was also announced in this session as the President of the Strategic Council, a body that will include nine sector groups and several institutional partners, introduced Carlos Moedas as “one of those Portuguese who helped to manage the country in very difficult times of its recent past and also helped to manage Europe in very difficult moments of its recent past, helping Portugal and Europe to grow, to be bigger and better ”.

The organization chart of this candidacy, which should involve a hundred entities, is completed by an Executive Committee led by José Pina, the Cultural Advisor of the mayor and Director of Teatro Aveirense.

A moment of affirmation of the broad consensus and political and institutional support of the candidacy, as well as the European dimension of this project, was symbolized in the association of the ceremony with the national day of Latvia, which is also celebrated on November 18. This country will share the European Capital of Culture with Portugal in 2027.

Complete structure:

Strategic Council

José Ribau Esteves – Mayor of Aveiro

Paulo Jorge Ferreira – Rector at the University of Aveiro

Salvador Malheiro – Vice-President of the Intermunicipal Community of Aveiro Region

Fernando Paiva de Castro – Chairman of the Board of the Chamber of Commerce of Industry of the District of Aveiro

Executive Comission

José Pina – Cultural Advisor, Programmer and Director of Teatro Aveirense

Sónia Almeida – Head of the Culture and Tourism Division of the Aveiro City Council

André Costa – Head of Economic Development and Entrepreneurship Division of Aveiro City Council

Carlos Martins – International Expert in the areas of Creative Economy, Tourism and Cultural Planning, Executive Director of “Guimarães 2012 – European Capital of Culture”

Filipe Teles – Pro-Rector of the University of Aveiro

Rosa Conceição Tomás – Advisor for Culture and Education of the Intermunicipal Community of Aveiro Region

Elisabete Rita – Executive Vice President of AIDA CCI – Aveiro District Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Honor Commission

President – Carlos Moedas – Former European Commissioner